Charter of Organization-Construction Materials Research Center Effective July 2018

The Construction Materials Research Center (CMRC) aims to advance the state of the materials industry with particular focus on highways and transportation systems, though all construction materials are considered. CMRC aims to be impactful through research, development and education/training. CMRC's primary area of interest is Mississippi and surrounding states, though materials issues outside of this region are also of interest. CMRC aims to simultaneously serve applicable industries, agencies, undergraduate students, and graduate students. Effectively, CMRC aims to be an "industry, agency, and university partnership," and a "sound program at all levels that couples discovery and education."

CMRC is located at Mississippi State University (MSU) within the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) department, and is led by the Director who is also referred to as the Materials and Construction Industries (MCI) Chair. The MCI Chair is endowed by gifts made by members of the construction and materials industries. The Dean of the James Worth Bagley College of Engineering (BCoE) and the CEE Department Head serve CMRC in an ex officio capacity.

CMRC has a Board of Advisors (the Board) that serves in an advisory role to provide advice and direction with regard to priorities and other relevant matters. A key purpose of the Board is to serve as a conduit for industry, agency, and government input, while also helping to secure funding for CMRC activities. In addition to the Board, CMRC has a group of contributing entities (the Contributors) that consists of every group who has contributed to the endowment. Note that most Board members are also Contributors. In addition to the Board and Contributors, anyone who is interested in CMRC's activities is welcome to attend meetings and be a part of most activities.

Board members are listed below; some are elected by Contributors, some aren't. There is no limit to the number of consecutive terms an elected position may serve (including Board Chair). Terms are 3-year, begin January 1, and end December 31. Term durations are 2016 to 2018, 2019 to 2021, and so forth. In the event an Elected Member is not able to fulfill their 3-year term, two options exist and are at the discretion of the MCI Chair: 1) a within-term election is held and the individual elected completes the remainder of the term (less than 3 years); or 2) the elected position is open for the remainder of the three year term. One reason an elected member might not be able to fulfill their three year term would be his/her employer becomes a Contributing Member, and in that case the individual is automatically removed as an Elected Member and becomes a Contributing Member. Charter updates related to contributing or elected members as described above do not require a vote and are denoted as, for example, charter revision 2a, 2b, and so forth. The only item that requires a vote pertaining to Elected Member positions is their actual election. A company or entity can have no more than one Board member. To be considered for an Elected Member position, an individual must self-nominate to the MCI Chair explaining how they could benefit CMRC on the board. If the MCI Chair accepts their justification, an election is held to determine if the individual is voted onto the board as an Elected Member. There can be no more than 3 Elected Members at any point in time; i.e., there can be 0, 1, 2, or 3 Elected Members at any one point in time.

<u>Board Chair:</u> An agency representative serves as chair of the Board. This representative is to come from the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) or the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) unless conditions warrant otherwise. The Board Chair is elected to a 3-year term. <u>James Williams</u> of MDOT was elected in October of 2015 to serve as the Board Chair from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018.

<u>Contributing Members:</u> Every company or entity that has contributed \$50,000 or more gets one seat on the board (active pledges are taken as contributions so long as the pledge is fulfilled). Contributing board members can be changed by the company or entity with no vote. As of the date of this charter revision, there are fifteen contributing member seats: APAC Mississippi (<u>Dwayne Boyd</u>), Ergon, Inc. (<u>Baxter Burns</u>), Southeast Cement Promotion Association (<u>Wayne Wilson</u>), Mississippi Lime (<u>Eustace Conway</u>), Vulcan Materials (<u>Brett VanderMeeden</u>), Hill Brothers Construction (<u>Vacant</u>), MMC Materials (<u>Kyle Beckman</u>), Dickerson & Bowen (<u>Kyle LaPorte</u>), Dunn Roadbuilders (<u>Pepper Beckman</u>), Mississippi Asphalt Pavement Association (<u>Michael Arnemann</u>), Key Constructors, LLC (<u>Jason Henry</u>), Sunbelt Sealing (<u>Joe Lauderdale</u>), the Mississippi Concrete Association (<u>Joel Waters</u>), Delta Industries (<u>Les Howell</u>), and Hunt Refining Company (<u>Judge Brown</u>).

<u>Elected Member</u>: Up to 3 members of the Board are voted in from Contributors who have not contributed \$50,000 to the endowment. This member is elected to a 3-year term. As of the date of this charter revision, there are 0 Elected Members.

<u>Voting:</u> Every Contributor who has contributed (or pledged so long as pledge is fulfilled) \$1,000 or more to the endowment has one vote, and all votes are weighted equally. A minimum of 11 votes must be cast to conduct official business (i.e. for there to be a quorum), and thereafter a simple majority is required for a change to be made at a regular meeting called by the MCI Chair where the date and time were distributed ahead of time to the group. Votes can also be cast my mail (physical mail or email) so long as the votes are received within the acceptable time frame set by the MCI Chair.